National Geographic

VOICES Voices Icon Ideas and Insight From Explorers

Menu

Live Underwater Broadcast from Australia’s Great Barrier Reef

Courtesy of NOAA
Courtesy of NOAA

Just in time for World Oceans Day (June 8), Tourism and Events Queensland and Catlin Seaview Survey are holding the first ever live broadcast from underwater on the Great Barrier Reef. Tune in on Friday, June 7 at 10 am AEST (8 pm EST on Thursday, June 6) through 10 pm AEST local time (8 am EST on Friday, June 7).

The event will stream live as a Google Hangout through www.youtube.com/queensland. People are encouraged to post questions via Twitter hashtag #REEFLIVE to divers at the underwater ‘Sea Studio.’

Marine biologist and documentary filmmaker Richard Fitzpatrick will lead the effort, supported by a rotating panel of experts from around the world. Included in that group is Costas Christ, a sustainable tourism expert and Nat Geo Traveler’s Editor at Large, who will be interviewed from his home in Maine.

Fitzpatrick is known for his Emmy-award winning cinematography for the National Geographic series Great Migrations and for the BBC series Great Barrier Reef. Other participating experts include Professor Jamie Seymour from James Cook University’s Reef Research Unit and Dave Wachenfeld from the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority.

The Catlin Seaview Survey uses high-resolution, 360-degree images to allow the public to experience the ocean through “virtual dives.”

Click here to view the live event.